CRPF- Central Reserve Police Force & Its Mandate

Sandarbha Desk
Sandarbha Desk
  • CRPF or the Central Reserve Police Force came into existence as Crown Representative’s Police in 1939. The enactment of the CRPF Act, 1949 established it as the Central Reserve Police Force.
  • It is the premier central police force for the internal security of the country.
  • It is the largest of all the CAPFs in the country.
  • It is headed by an IPS officer.
  • MHA is its administrative head.
  • It has raised 3 NDRF (National Disaster Response Force) Battalions to assist in case of natural calamities.
  • It’s primary role is:
  • Maintenance of law and order by assisting the states and union territories in their police operations.
  • Containing insurgency and carrying out anti Naxal operations.
  • Overseeing the elections conducted across the country.
  • Performing guard duties at some of the vital installations, buildings and religious shrines.

Some specialized formations of CRPF are:

  • RAF (Rapid Action Force)– Formed in 1992, it is a specialized 10 battalion wing of the CRPF. It has multi-ethnic composition and better mobility to tackle communal rights and civil unrest.
  • COBRA (Commando Battalions for Resolute Action)- Formed during 2008-09 , it is another specialized 10 battalion wing of the CRPF. They perform commando operations against Left Wing Extremism and are capable of undertaking intelligence based quick operations.
  • Special Duty Group (SDG)- It provides armed protection to SPG protected places. The personnel are trained in combating nuclear and bio-chemical attacks, rescue operations and behavioral management.
  • Parliament Duty Group (PDG)- This unit of CRPF provides armed protection to Parliament House. They are also trained in combating nuclear and bio-chemical attacks, rescue operations and behavioral management. It has distinct units of security personnel, communications experts, quick reaction teams and medical staff.
  • Mahila Battalion- CRPF is the only para-military force in the country which has three Mahila Battalions.


Read More: Various Security forces and agencies and their mandate

Share This Article
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *